American Legion Emblem



Boy Scouts

Since its earliest days, the Boy Scouts of America has cultivated leadership and good citizenship, a service that has been recognized since its establishment. Boy Scouts have been an integral part of our country ever since.

At the American Legion’s first National Convention in 1919, the American Legion gave approval and support to the Boy Scout movement. Posts began to sponsor Boy Scout units following the convention, but organized guidance and cooperation did not take place until 1922 when the Boy Scout program was included in the activities of the Americanism Commission.

American Legion chartering of Boy Scout units has steadily increased over the years. On average, Legion Posts have either chartered or sponsored approximately 2,500 scouting units (Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops, Venturing Crews and Sea Scout Ships) nationwide on an annual basis, totaling over 79,000 BSA registered members. This is natural for Legionnaires, who bring their service-learned skills and experiences as veterans to help build character and positive traits in our country’s youth. Few other post activities generate more goodwill from the community.

The American Legion Department of Mississippi, with the continued cooperation of its American Legion Posts, expects to sustain its existing BSA charters and steadily increase new BSA chartered units annually. During an average year, the Mississippi program will reach thousands of young scouts and thousands of dollars through its chartering of units and sponsorship of BSA programs.

The Boy Scouts of America (BSA) (colloquially, the Boy Scouts) is the largest scouting organization and one of the largest youth organizations in the United States, with about 2.3 million youth participants and about one million adult volunteers. The BSA was founded in 1910, and since then, about 110 million Americans participated in BSA programs at some time in their lives. BSA is part of the international Scout Movement and became a founding member organization of the World Organization of the Scout Movement in 1922.

The stated mission of the Boy Scouts of America is to "prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law." Youth are trained in responsible citizenship, character development, and self-reliance through participation in a wide range of outdoor activities, educational programs, and, at older age levels, career-oriented programs in partnership with community organizations. For younger members, the Scout method is part of the program to instill typical Scouting values such as trustworthiness, good citizenship, and outdoors skills, through a variety of activities such as camping, aquatics, and hiking.

To further these outdoor activities, the BSA has four high-adventure bases: Northern Tier (Minnesota, Manitoba, and Ontario), Philmont Scout Ranch (New Mexico), Sea Base (Florida, US Virgin Islands, and the Bahamas), and Summit Bethel Reserve (West Virginia), as well as nearly one hundred separate camps and reservations specifically dedicated to scouts.

The traditional Scouting divisions are Cub Scouting for ages 5 to 11 years, Scouts BSA for ages 11 to 18, Venturing for ages 14 through 21, and Sea Scouts for ages 14 through 21. The BSA operates traditional Scouting by chartering local organizations, such as churches, clubs, civic associations, or educational organization, to implement the Scouting program for youth within their communities. Units are led entirely by volunteers appointed by the chartering organization, who are supported by local councils using both paid professional Scouters and volunteers. Additionally, Learning for Life is a non-traditional affiliate that provides in-school and career education.

On February 1, 2019, the Boy Scouts of America officially renamed their flagship program, Boy Scouts, Scouts BSA to reflect their change of policy to allow girls to join in separate, gender-specific troops.

Based on the principle of duty to God and Country, the Scouting program serves youth, ages 6 through 21, regardless of ethnic background, creed or physical or mental ability. In cooperation with organizations like the American Legion, Scouting offers a way for you and other dedicated volunteers of your post and the community to bring fun, adventure, and leadership skills to young people, and to provide effective character building, citizenship training, and personal fitness opportunities for youth.


Department of Mississippi Boy Scout Committee:

Chairman - Dr. Charles W. Hall, P. O. Box 15171, Hattiesburg, MS 39404

Bobby Owens, 415 Oxford Road, New Albany, MS 38652

Shawn Crosgrove, 1614 Broadhill Drive, Vicksburg, MS 39180

Harris Day, 1204 Wellington Lane, Ocean Springs, MS 39564




Pages:   1     2  

© 2022 Department of Mississippi | All Rights Reserved

Headquarters Administration