American Legion Emblem



National Convention

National Convention

The American Legion’s largest annual meeting is the national convention. Each of the Legion’s 55 departments – the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, France, Mexico and Philippines – is entitled to a minimum of five voting delegates to the national convention. A department is granted one extra delegate, a member in good standing, for each 1,000 members (or major fraction thereof) 30 days before the convention. The five annually elected vice commanders round out the group of delegates present. The national convention delegates alone have the authority to approve changes to the Legion’s constitution and bylaws. The group is also responsible for passing programs that determine the course of the Legion, setting membership dues for the upcoming year, and electing a national commander and five national vice commanders to serve until the next convention.

The American Legion will be conducting its 102nd National Convention in Louisville, Kentucky, August 28 – September 3, 2020. The Legion is proud that the state of Kentucky and specifically the city of Louisville will be welcoming The American Legion Family members to its fine city. These members gather at the National Convention to help further their cause of patriotism and support for our servicemembers past and present. The National Convention of The American Legion includes the following separate events: the American Legion Auxiliary’s National Convention, the Sons of The American Legion’s Convention and The American Legion Riders Legacy Run. The combined membership of these organizations is nearly 3 million worldwide.

Along with the above-mentioned and the annual business meeting, other significant elements of the National Convention include a parade, patriotic memorial service, exhibits, general sessions with nationally acclaimed keynote speakers, color guard and band contests, receptions and banquets.
Convention cities are selected through a variety of criteria including, but not limited to, the availability and price of hotel rooms, meeting space, city services, and the needs of the national organization and departments. Bids are accepted from cities wishing to host the convention.
For information on the national convention or to obtain information on hosting one, please contact:

Bridget Robinson, CMP, Director
(317) 630-1292
(317) 630-1397 (fax)
Contact Bridget Robinson

National Convention

The legislative body of The American Legion shall be the National Convention, except as otherwise provided in the Constitution and By-laws.

The time and place of the National Conventions shall be determined by the National Executive Committee, which shall have authority to change such time and place for sufficient reasons to it appearing.

In the National Convention each Department shall be entitled to five delegates and one additional delegate for each one thousand members, or major fraction thereof, whose current dues have been received by the National Treasurer 30 days prior to the meeting of said convention, and whose registration fees, as fixed by the National Executive Committee, for its total authorizes delegate strength, have been paid; and to one alternate for each delegate.  The delegates shall be chosen not less than two weeks before the National Convention at Department Conventions or in any other manner specified by any Department Constitution.

Each duly registered delegate shall be entitled to one vote.  The vote of any registered delegate absent and not represented by an alternate shall be cast by the majority of the registered delegates present from his/her Department.  Alternates for registered delegates shall have all the privileges of registered delegates, except that of voting.  A registered delegate is one who has received his credentials after his registration fee has been paid.

A quorum shall exist at a National Convention when sixty percent of the Department are represented as provided above.

The National Executive Committee shall provide a Uniform Code of Procedures for the orderly organization and operation of National Conventions with continuing power of revision, and said Code shall be applicable at all National Conventions unless it is amended, suspended, or repealed by a majority vote of the total authorized representation at a National Convention.

Department of Mississippi Contacts:

Chairman - NEC Robert “Bob” Gosa, - P.O. Box 534, Calhoun City, MS 38916.   

Alternate    NEC - Steve Sweet - 38 West Lake Lee, Greenville, MS39701  


© 2022 Department of Mississippi | All Rights Reserved

Headquarters Administration